Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Recent Spike in NeoSploit Activity

Embedded malicious iFrames within ad banners on popular sites has been attributed to a recent spike in NeoSploit activity.

This week I saw a number of blocks to
google.analytics.com.[a-z]*.info domains, for example,
  • google.analytics.com.okruvgbpfyyl.info
  • google.analytics.com.poaluygbcxu.info
  • google.analytics.com.hjhcgawqijc.info
  • google.analytics.com.kfyalnkfqhl.info
  • google.analytics.com.gxycidzewmed.info

The whois information shows that these domains have now been sink-holed by ShadowServer:

Redirection to these domains appeared to have occurred from heavily obfuscated JavaScript from the domain:
adrotator.mediaplex.feed-mnptr.com (currently resolves to 188.72.252.129)

This domain is still live, and is mentioned on a few sites (Kaspersky and Google SafeBrowsing) as being malicious, but is otherwise not generally well known at the time of this analysis.

Google searches for adrotator.mediaplex.feed-mnptr.com show that the iFrame has been injected into some popular websites, for example, mtv.com, a number of msn.com sites, and a whole host of other sites (evite, cnbc, buy, juno) - reference.

Once redirected to one of the www.google.analytics.com.[a-z]*.info domains, the victim receives JavaScript from what appears to be the NeoSploit exploit kit, where the following pages may be pulled down:
  • Java exploit: class.class, Main.class
  • PDF and Browser exploits: kav6.html, kav6.php, kav6.py, kav6%20.asp, AVORP1KAV6%20.asp, kav6.exe/
  • Payload (e.g., Fake A/V): kav6.exe

Update
:
DNS-BH has a new post on 250+ Fraud, NeoSploit, etc. domains to block, and it includes the above domain mentioned: adrotator.mediaplex.feed-mnptr.com. DNS-BH also has a post listing a number of malicious domains being served on banner advertisement networks; displaying just how large a problem malicious banner ads have become.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

I believe I was a victim of the above on a populr blog site; http://globaleconomicanalysis.blogspot.com a popular financial blog with many ads via Google, etc. Was redirected on 2 different occasions on random cliks on the page. First one was to 195.5.161.129, the second to 91.213.157.5/index1.html, both were fake av. So this is not just affecting major TLD's but possibly anyone using any ad services. I alerted the host of the blog, but he was unaware and unable to recreate. I found a forum that had the same problem and with out admiting fault his ad service removed an ad and the problem dissapeared on both his fourm and the blog above. Both IP's above are now listed on several blacklists and on Malwareurl.com

Joshua